Revenge

The challenge from Dverse Poets this week is to write a dramatic monologue in the style of The Laboratory by Robert Browning, on the theme of plotting someone’s death. Lovely and grisly, just what I need to dispel the blandness of a Wednesday with nothing planned! Here goes:

 

Here she comes with the scripts in her hand
She dishes out pencils, saying talking is banned
She seems to take pleasure in watching us sweat
She’s the nastiest teacher I’ve ever met

As I quake and I tremble, knowing I’ll fail
That weasel sits filing a ragged nail!
As there’s no point in trying, I hatch a plan
To exact my revenge as only I can

At four on the dot when the bell rings
I’ll put down my pencil and gather my things
Then just as I’m leaving, I’ll turn back around
And pretend that I’ve dropped something on the ground

As the hag bends down to have a look
I’ll beat her brains out with my history book
I’ll mop up the mess with her stupid script
And leave them both lying all bloody and ripped

There’s only one problem, just one minor glitch
What to do with the corpse of the ugly bitch?
I’ll pull up the carpet and wrap it around her
Then run out screaming as if I’ve just found her

The police will never guess it was me
I was busy doing an exam, you see
Oh no, that part of the plan’s not right:
My page is blank, I refused to write!

I’d better come up with an alibi
In the meantime, I’ll give this exam a try
My next exam’s a week today
I’ll kill her then, come what may!

19 thoughts on “Revenge

  1. Discretion is the better part of revenge too. It made me glad when the student couldn’t work out the details. The last line is a funny foil to their plan. I don’t think I ever plotied the demise of any of my teachers, but there were a few…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so funny with the voice of the student’s revenge on the poor teacher ~ This part was bloody awful good:

    As the hag bends down to have a look
    I’ll beat her brains out with my history book
    I’ll mop up the mess with her stupid script
    And leave them both lying all bloody and ripped

    Well done~

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

