Links between art and poetry

IMG_5543This is not news. I’m just forever impressed by the synergy between art and poetry. Drawing and painting require keen observation, looking beyond what you think you see and perceiving the shapes and colour of the everyday world. When I am in drawing mode, I am constantly surprised by what I discover when I really look at something closely, beyond the point when I think I know what I’m looking at. And it’s exactly the same experience when I write poetry. Images  connect like magnets to create strange and unexpected verbal sculptures.

Here’s a drawing of an eye for your amusement! I know it’s not perfect but I’m working on it. Baby steps…!

Leave a Reply

